

# FOREST AND RURAL FIRE ASSOCIATION OF NEW ZEALAND

## **ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

# **BLENHEIM – 5 AUGUST 2015**

## 1. WELCOME

- Don Scott opened the AGM
- A total of 48 members were in attendance. A list of attendees is held with the minutes by FRFANZ.

## 2. APOLOGIES

- Kevin Ihaka, Phill Wishnowsky, Roy Knight
- Moved by Doug Ashford, seconded by Mark Boere

# 3. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS AGM (Held at Mount Maunganui 30 July 2014)

- Don moves that they be accepted and read. *Moved by Doug, seconded by Elton Smith*.
- No matters arising

# 4. CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

- On behalf of Kevin, Don read out his first annual report as deputy chairperson for the last year and welcomes members to the 2015 annual general meeting. See attached.
- Kevin sends his regards from Canada and voiced his appreciation to the committee of frfanz & praised them for the goals they have achieved this year.
- Don thanked Kevin for the immense amount of time he has put into making FRFANZ a more effective voice.
- MKRFA, Gail Stewart and Richard McNamara were thanked for their support along with Innovatek organise this conference.
- Don moves that his report be accepted. *Moved by Don, seconded by Gavin.*

# 5. TREASURERS REPORT

- Hard copies were circulated at the AGM. See attached.
- Bruce Kitto delivered the treasurers report on behalf of Bella Clark.
- This is the first year operating under the MYOB accounting system
- The financial statement for the year ended 30 April, shows a financial profit \$12,767.00
- There were no further questions
- Bruce moves that her report for 2014/2015 year be accepted. *Moved by Bruce, seconded by Graeme McIntyre*

## 6. ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE:

(Excerpt from new Constitution – "9.1 The affairs of FRFANZ will be run by a Management Committee, which shall consist of a Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, and at least five, and no more than ten, other elected members. The Management Committee shall appoint a Secretary and Treasurer. The Secretary/Treasurer position can be held by one person or separately by two persons at the discretion of the Management Committee, or this may be contracted out. 9.4 The Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, and Management Committee members shall be elected biennially at the Annual General Meeting of FRFANZ."

### The following were nominated for:

- Chairperson:
  - Kevin Ihaka was nominated
  - Don moved that this be accepted. All in favour

### • Deputy Chairperson:

- Gavin O'Donnel was nominated
- Bruce Kitto was nominated
- o Elton Smith was nominated
- Don declares (By a show of hands) Bruce Kitto as deputy chairperson for FRFANZ

### • Management Committee:

- o Bella Clark
- o Bruce Kitto
- o Elton Smith
- Gavin O'Donnell
- o Graeme McIntyre
- o Mark Montgomery
- o Allan Grigg
- o Evan Rarere
- Veronica Clifford
- Moved by Doug Ashford , René Londeman seconds. All in favour

#### 7. GENERAL BUSINESS

- 2016 Conference is proposed for 27 29<sup>th</sup> July Masterton.
- A question was asked about when and where the national wajax competition will be held. The FRFANZ committee will discuss both options of location (Canterbury or Masterton) and proposed dates.
  - October/November was proposed as an alternative, however this was a busy time of the year for some. Late summer/Autumn, i.e. March/April would suit the farming community better.
- There was no other general business from the floor

#### Don closed the meeting at 9:03am

Addendum: All were in favour in awarding life membership to Don Scott.

 $\circ$   $\;$   $\;$  Bruce moved and Elton seconded it.